Consultant - Andrew Kilian

Andrew Kilian

Andrew Kilian was born on 24 December 1962 in Basildon, Essex, England. He spent his youth in South Africa. During the school holidays he would help out at the winery of a close friend, where he gradually developed his passion for wine. In October 1988 he left South Africa for Europe.

He spent the first year travelling and finally settled in Neuweier, Baden, in July 1989, where he worked for the company Strunk Sekt from 1989 to 1999. From September 1999 to July 2001 he attended the State Teaching and Experimental Station in Weinsberg, which he left as a state-certified engineer for viticulture and oenology.

He spent the autumn of 2001 at the Georg Mosbacher winery in Forst. In January 2002 he returned to South Africa to spend 6 months at Boekenhoutskloof in Franschoek. He established such a close relationship with the winegrowers there that he worked on every grape harvest, i.e. from February to May, in the following years until 2008.

From 2002 to 2006 he worked as second cellar master at the Georg Mosbacher Winery in Forst, which he left for personal reasons. He spent the 2006 grape harvest season on the Harlan Estate in the Napa Valley, California.

In the autumn of 2007 he worked in South Africa as cellar master at Reyneke Wines in Stellenbosch, as well as in Europe at the Herdada Da Calada estate in the Alentejo region in Portugal.

In 2008 he was employed as cellar master by von Ortloff Wines in South Africa. He spent the grape harvest season in Europe in Tuscany at Tenute Silvio Nardi. Subsequently, in 2009 he went to New Zealand to work as cellar master at the Johner Estate. Later that year, he returned to the Napa Valley to work at the Napa Valley Reserve. There, he was responsible for the red wines, which are fermented in oak barrels, known as barriques. From time to time, Andy also worked in wine sales at Weingut Knipser in Laumersheim.

From February 2010 to June 2011 he worked as a consultant for the GTZ in Kosovo.

He has been a permanent consultant to the Independent Winegrowers of Luxembourg since July 2011.

Mercedes Benz

Berater -Andrew Kilian

Andrew Kilian

Andrew Kilian wird am 24.Dezember 1962 in Basildon, Essex, Groß Britanien geboren. Er verbringt seine Jugend in Südafrika. Bereits während seiner Schulferien hilft er bei einem guten Freund auf dessen Weingut aus. In dieser Zeit entsteht seine Begeisterung für den Wein. Im Oktober 1988 verlässt er Südafrika, um nach Europa zu gehen.

Er verbrachte zunächst ein Jahr mit Reisen bis er sich im Juli 1989 in Neuweier in Baden niederlässt, wo er von 1989 bis 1999 arbeitet für die Firma Strunk Sekt. Von September 1999 bis Juli 2001 besucht er die staatliche Lehr- und Versuchsanstalt in Weinsberg, die er als staatlich geprüfter Techniker für Weinbau und Oenologie verlässt.

Den Herbst 2001 verbringt er bei Weingut Georg Mosbacher in Forst. Ab Januar 2002 verbringt er 6 Monate bei Boekenhoutskloof in Franschoek, Südafrika. Zu diesem Weingut entwickelt sich ein freundschaftliches Verhältnis, so dass er in den Folgejahren bis 2008 dort jede Lese arbeitet, d.h. Februar bis Mai.

Von 2002 bis 2006 arbeitet er als zweiter Kellermeister bei Georg Mosbacher in Forst, welches er aus persönlichen Gründen verlässt. Die Lese 2006 verbringt er bei Harlan Estate in Napa Valley Kalifornien.

Im Herbst 2007 arbeitet er als Kellermeister bei Reyneke Wines in Stellenbosch, Südafrika. Daneben arbeitet er im Herbst in Europa als Kellermeister bei Herdada Da Calada im Alantejo Gebiet in Portugal.

2008 wird er als Kellermeister für von Ortloff Wines in Südafrika engagiert. Die Lese in Europa verbringt er in der Toskana, bei Tenute Silvio Nardi. Im Jahr 2009 geht er dann nach Neuseeland, um bei Weingut Johner als Kellermeister zu arbeiten. Später in diesem Jahr zieht es ihn wieder ins Napa Valley, zu The Napa Valley Reserve. Hier ist er verantwortlich für die Rotweine, welche im Barrique vergoren waren. Zwischendurch hat Andy auch bei Weingut Knipser in Laumersheim für deren Weinverkauf gearbeitet.

Vom Februar 2010 bis Juni 2011 arbeitete er als Berater für GTZ in Kosovo.

Seit Juli 2011 ist er ständiger Berater der Luxemburger Privatwinzer.

Stadt Luxembourg